Tag Archives: shoegaze

The Kids Want Shoegaze

Earlier on this week my friend Callum asked me to compile him a “shoegaze” type mixtape that he could play at a gig that he is hosting. Just something that could act as a noise filler before, between and after the bands have played. I was undecided about whether or not to make it an hour and a half or 2 hours so instead settled for the standard 1 hour and 18 minutes to allow the mix to be transferred to CD if needed.

When it came to making this mix i wanted to make sure i incorporated all elements of shoegaze stylings in the music. There’s the heavy and quiet sides, an electronic element throughout, some less traditional styles of shoegaze, some well known, some lesser known, some shoe-pop or indie-gaze such as Radio Dept and The Rosebuds and onto the ridiculously cool side of shoegaze known as HTRK.  There’s also a few audio samples from films included as usual and there’s a slight curveball at the end in the form of Maybeshewill remixing Minnaars. Techno-shoegaze-core anyone? God i hate genralization.

Anyway, it’s basically just a big effects laden, fuzz filled 80 minutes. Hope you enjoy and feel free to download from Soundcloud or Mediafire. Links are below the setlist.

1. 93 Million Miles From The Sun – Step Into The High
2. A Place To Bury Strangers – In Your Heart
3. Screen Vinyl Image – Cathode Ray
4. The Jesus and Mary Chain – Degenerate
5. Ringo Deathstarr – Swirly
6. Singapore Sling – Overdriver
7. The Band In Heaven – Dreams (cover of The Cranberries)
8. Crocodiles – I Wanna Kill
9. Rraaiillss – Red Strings
10. Manhattan Love Suicides – Skulls
11. Mixtapes And Cellmates – Soon
12. The Radio Dept – Ewan
13. Team Ghost – Only You Can Break My Heart
14. M83 – Teen Angst
15. Autolux – Turnstile Blues
16. HTRK – Ha
17. Stuck In The Sound – Zapruder
18. The Rosebuds – Border Guards
19. Tired Irie – Freeze Me A River (Maybeshewill remix)
20. Minnaars – Spelt With A K (Maybeshewill remix)

LISTEN and DOWNLOAD: Someone’s In The Wolf – The Kids Want Shoegaze @ 192 kbps

DOWNLOAD: Someone’s In The Wolf – The Kids Want Shoegaze @ 256 kbps

S.I.T Wolf  X


Filed under the weekend mixtape

To Fix The Gash In Your Head

On October the 6th New York noise mongers “A Place To Bury Strangers” return with new album “Exploding Head”. Aptly titled if you ask me. I’ve had a listen, my speakers exist no more, yes, it’s that loud. The band consists of guitarist and vocalist Oliver Ackermann and the brilliantly monikered bassist Jono Mofo and drummer Jay Space. The trio released their self titled debut album back in 2007. I remember the first time i heard it. It literally blew me away. It was loud, it was riddled with effects pedals (Ackermann is the founder of Death By Audio in all fairness), it was melodic, the vocals and overall feel of the album harked back to the days of the Jesus and Mary Chain and My Bloody Valentine. Shoegaze at its best in other words. The song “The Falling Sun” from that debut album is so loud and encapsulating that when i first heard it through headphones it felt like the end of the world was about to happen, i was convinced the apocalypse was coming through my IPod, thats how doom laden their music can be yet they always carry a sense of melody in all their tracks and wear their influences proudly.

MP3: A Place To Bury Strangers – To Fix The Gash In Your Head

MP3: A Place To Bury Strangers – Missing You

Anyways back to the new stuff. The band have carried on where they left off on their new album. They’ve kept all the ingredients that made their debut the huge success that it was and then added more groove this time around. There’s still the apocalyptic feel and the effects pedals are still present the whole way throughout the album but there’s definitely a sense of something new, i think it may be that this is the band finding themselves and realising what they’re capable of achieving on “Exploding Head” and it’s all the better for it. The last song on the “Exploding Head” titled “I Lived My Life To Stand In The Shadow Of Your Heart” is both beautiful and scary at the same time, not something a lot, if any, other bands can achieve. Put simply, A Place To Bury Strangers are in a world of their own. It’s just as well for us that we’re allowed in.

a_place_to_bury_strangers live 
I’m off to see them live (for the 2nd time) @ the Captains Rest in Glasgow on the 12th of November. It can’t come any quicker.

MP3: A Place To Bury Strangers – It Is Nothing

MP3: A Place To Bury Strangers – In Your Heart

“Exploding Head” Full Tracklist

1. It Is Nothing
2. Into Your Heart
3. Lost Feeling
4. Deadbeat
5. Keep Slipping Away
6. Ego Death
7. Smile When You Smile
8. Everything Always Goes Wrong
9. Exploding Head
10. I Lived My Life To Stand In The Shadow Of Your Heart

Support the band and buy the album when its out. Available from the 6th of October.


S.I.T Wolf x

Leave a comment

Filed under attacking your speakers