Tag Archives: faker

Standing On The Edge Of Pop

Hot on the trails of the $elling Out mixtape comes “Standing On The Edge Of Pop”. The concept stays the same on this mix. Although this time its not quite so blatant. $elling Out was designed as a mix that (hopefully) everybody would recognise the songs from. Tracks and artists that pretty much everyone has or should have heard of at some point in their musical life. Standing On The Edge however is a more varied mix that features artists and songs who are well known and some artists who (i believe) should have pop recognition but are still unknown to a certain extent, well unknown to most ears anyway. All of the bands involved in the mix have a certain degree of pop sensibility regarding melody thus their tunes are catchy. Any one of the songs wouldn’t sound out of place on your work radio. Depending on which station you listen to that is. Unfortunately for me, everyone in the garage i work in has a taste in Clyde 102.5 or Real Radio….both are pish. Bring back XFM Scotland! ….. Back to the mix, i tried to make it as variable as i could to cater for many different types of listeners. Every song is a pop gem, some you’ll recognise, some you won’t but i hope you enjoy nonetheless.

Standing On The Edge Of Pop Tracklist

1. Apparat – Hailin’ From The Edge
2. Julian Plenti – Only If You Run
3. The Radio Dept – Where Damage Isn’t Already Done
4. TV On The Radio – Wolf Like Me
5. Jape – Floating
6. Fleetwood Mac – Everywhere
7. Moby – Natural Blues
8. Faker – This Heart Attack
9. Two Door Cinema Club – Hands Off My Cash, Monty!
10. Johnny Neon – Laserkill
11. Yes Giantess – Tuff N Stuff
12. Familjen – Det Snurrar I Min Skalle
13. Yazoo vs Snap! – Don’t Go Rhythm Dancer
14. TNT Jackson (feat Chris Corner) – You And My Pearldiver
15. Maurice Williams and The Zodiacs – Stay
16. MPHO – Box ‘N’ Locks
17. Jordin Sparks – Battlefield
18. Free Energy – Dream City
19. Miike Snow – Animal
20. Arctic Monkeys – Dance Little Liar
21. Wild Beasts – Hooting And Howling
22. K-Os – Sunday Morning
SECRET TRACK : Bob -I’ve Seen Things………

MP3: Someones In The Wolf – Standing On The Edge Of Pop Mixtape

(alternative download)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/zmyk5xxjtmt/ – Standing On The Edge Of Pop Mixtape

standing on the edge of pop
S.I.T Wolf  X

Leave a comment

Filed under the weekend mixtape

A Picture Trail of Fake Vitriolic Neon Heartbeats

The “Six Mix” is another new section of the blog. I’m going to try my best to make it a weekly or at least a fortnightly thing. It’s going to be a selection of 5 random songs that i happen to be listening to and one video. Totalling up to 6 tracks in all, hence, the Six Mix. The artists will range from A Perfect Circle to Zombie Nation (thats just a fancy way of saying A to Z) and many more inbetween, just whatever takes my fancy at the time really. Oh yeah and the title of the post will be a mash up of the bands or songs i’m posting about. eg. A Picture Trail Of Fake Vitriolic Neon Heartbeats includes a segment of all the featured bands from this specific post. And don’t worry all future “Six Mix” posts won’t have all this babble at the beginning, they’ll be straight to the point with the 5 songs and a video.

Here goes nothing….making onto the first “Six Mix” are…..

My Vitriol looking slightly pissed off

My Vitriol looking slightly pissed off

MP3: My Vitriol – War Of The Worlds


MP3: Pictureplane – Goth Star

MP3: Faker – This Heart Attack

And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead
MP3: And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead – Mistakes & Regrets

breakbeat heartbeat
MP3: Breakbeat Heartbeat – As The Snowfalls

johnny neon

VIDEO: Johnny Neon – Laser Kill

S.I.T Wolf X

1 Comment

Filed under the six mix