Undercover With The Deftones

Two weeks ago i bought my ticket for the Deftones. They’re playing the Glasgow Academy on the 12th of November. I’ve seen them every time they have visited these shores since around 2002. If they’ve played Glasgow i’ve been there. Obviously it’s been a while since their last visit here. One of the main reasons being the serious car accident involving bassist Chi Cheng in November 2008. If you would like to know the full story or even donate money to help the stricken bassist then go on over to oneloveforchi.


Deftones returned to our ears with a new album in May this year and after having a good few months of listening to it i’m ready to hear it live. I’m sure they’ll play the majority of the album but they’ll also play some oldies which i’m really looking forward to. I love hearing the likes of “Around The Fur” and “My Own Summer” live, they still sound fresh after all these years.


But the point of this post was to get some Deftones cover tracks up. Deftones have recorded a massive variety of covers since their formation in 1988. They’ve tackled everything from new romantic pop (Duran Duran) through to thrash metal (Slayer) amd everything and anything else inbetween. I’ve got most of them on my hard-drive.

Here’s a few personal favourites….

MP3: Deftones – Jealous Guy (John Lennon cover)

MP3: Deftones – Drive (The Cars cover)

MP3: Deftones – Wax and Wane (Cocteau Twins cover)

MP3: Deftones – The Chauffer (Duran Duran cover)

MP3: Deftones – Please Please Let Me Get What I Want (The Smiths cover)

There’s a whole bundle of live covers on YouTube, my two favourites though have always been these two…

Here’s the original versions on MP3 if anybody wants to download them.

MP3: Weezer – Say It Ain’t So

MP3: The Cure – If Only Tonight We Could Sleep

The band have been the subject of many a cover themselves by lots of different artists and styles. One of the most intriguing is the String Quartet version of “RX Queen”. I have a lot of the String Quartet tribute albums and CD’s lying around, they’re mostly compilations i’ve made including covers of my favourite bands. I’ll do a post on the String Quartet sometime in the near future.


I’m really looking forward to their Glasgow show.

S.I.T Wolf  X

Leave a comment

Filed under duck for cover

Leave a Reply

