Weakened Weekend Warriors

Sorry about the lack of posting over the weekend. I was away visiting my friend Keane in Dundee. I hadn’t seen him for what felt like months (in reality it was just over a month) so we spent the whole weekend catching up and going on a massive pub crawl of Dundee. When i arrived on the Friday i was greeted by Keane and his girlfriend at the bus station and then swiftly moved on to the pub then back to Keanes flat where we enjoyed the relaxation of some very smooth joints, a nearby 24 our bakery and some old classics on Spotify. On the Saturday it was just the two of us (his girlfriend was meeting a friend and staying in to watch the X-Factor) so we basically went back to what we used to do in Glasgow when we’re 18 (was that really 7 years ago?). Yep, we revisited our youth and went out to watch the early football game at half 12, played some pool, spent/lost a couple of quid in William Hills, watched all the rest of the football results come in and cursed our luck, had some food, pumped a tenner into the jukebox and simultaneously jived on the spot while propping up the bar until the small hours of the morning and then somehow managed to make a 20 minute walk back to the flat last about 2 hours! The Sunday was spent munching hangover food and then returning to the pub for a curer, a nice cold Kopparberg or two. Then it was a bus journey home for me and my iPod. I left for Dundee early on Friday afternoon and only got home to Glasgow pretty late last night so i’m still a bit tired just now, especially since i have a full week of 12 hour shifts to look forward to in work 😦


Tickety Boo’s was the pub that we frequented the most over the 3 days. It was definitely my favourite haunt of the weekend.

Dundee was a bit of a wild/blurry weekend but one that i enjoyed immensely……..even if my wallet and bank account hate me now. I’ll basically be under a self imposed house arrest until pay day now which isn’t a bad thing i suppose as it means i can get posting on here and download some new music as well. I haven’t downloaded/bought/discovered any new albums in like a week. That’s a long time for me.

MP3: Weekend – Coma Summer

MP3: Arab Strap – The First Big Weekend

On the bus journey home i finally managed to get a chance to listen to an album i got a fortnight or so ago. The album in question is “All We Grow” by S.Carey. Maybe better known as the drummer from Bon Iver to most people but not for long if he keeps providing gems like this wonderful debut.  I can guarantee it’s gonna be in my end of year “Best of” list.

MP3: S.Carey – We Fell


Also, any excuse to get Bon Iver into the post……….

I absolutely adore this track. It was the second ever song i heard by Bon Iver back in late 2007 (after Skinny Love) and it’s always had a special place in my ears. The fact that my late friend Ruari covered it a few years back gives it that extra special emotional link when i listen to it.

MP3:  Bon Iver – Flume

S.I.T Wolf  X

Leave a comment

Filed under the quiet things that...

Leave a Reply

