Meet Me In Montauk

Have you ever listened to a song and thought that it totally encapsulates and sums up a film?

I don’t mean a song from a soundtrack though, that’s too obvious. So for example, “Eye of the Tiger” and the Rocky franchise is a no go!  I mean a song that is totally unrelated to a film, one that isn’t on the soundtrack, one that seems to capture that hour and a half or two hours and pour it into 4 or 5 minutes of music.

Well, Thursday, on the way home form work a song came on in shuffle mode on my iPod that just hit me. I’d heard it a thousand times before but this time it just said “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”. So i went home, had a shower, had my dinner (by this time it was 10:30pm) and crawled into my bed and put on my “Eternal Sunshine…..” DVD. I was right. The song IS the film. I’d found the perfect musical version of “Eternal Sunshine”. How did i not realise this before?

The song in question is “The Rudiments of a Spiritual Life” by The American Dollar.

Below i’ve posted MP3’s of the original version and also one that i decided to edit a little. All i’ve done is take a few segments from the film and play them over the intro and the kinda bridge-y part of the song. I think it fits perfectly.

MP3: The American Dollar – Rudiments Of A Spiritual Life

MP3: The Rudiments of a Spotless Mind (S.I.T Wolf Edit)

How happy is the blameless vestal’s lot?
The world forgetting, by the world forget
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
Each prayer accepted, each wish resigned


This video montage is worth posting just for Becks cover of “Everybody’s Gotta Learn Sometime”

I’m interested to know if anybody else has any ideas for songs that you think perfectly captures a film so let me know.

S.I.T Wolf X

3 Comments

Filed under jukebox cinema

3 responses to “Meet Me In Montauk

  1. Sara

    So glad i found this blog. I check it religiously pretty much every day.

    Also, i think i’ve seen you in Glasgow before. It’s the tattoo i recognise. Do you go to the 13th Note quite a lot?

    x

  2. Someone's In The Wolf

    Thanks. Glad you like it.

    I’ve been in The Note quite a bit recently yeah. My friend lives close by so that’s our usual hang out place. Plus they have the second best jukebox in Scotland in there.

  3. Thanks for this article.i really like this movie.

Leave a Reply

