Hot Water Music: Day 5 (This Is Not Happening)

First off i’d like to apologise for the delay in getting this song up. Its been a week since the last one. I had planned to get the song up as normal last Friday but my computer’s being playing up big time over the last week or so and basically wouldn’t allow me to. And i’ve also been busy recently, really busy. There’s been christmas shopping, wrapping, gigs to go to, hangovers, days in bed, shopping, family get togethers, more gigs, shopping. And did i mention shopping? Well it’s all done now anyway. Every last drop of shopping….apart from a few odds and ends that i’ll get on Sunday.

Song 5/Fridays Song: Mew – She Came Home For Christmas

This song is one that came into my head one day this week on the way home from work. I was on the bus with my headphones, it was absolutely freezing, i had my iPod on random and when this particular song came on i automatically warmed up. The key’s in the title. It just sounds happy, which is quite ironic given the lyrics. But it’s not only that, it’s everything else about it. The chord progression is very simple and popular. There are a thousand other songs that use the exact same chords in the exact same progression, style and delivery but Mew somehow make a B, F# and E sound like their own chords, like they made them. The intricate sounding piano and the operatic background take over eventually and somehow become the heartbeat of the entire song. Lets not forget Jonas Bjerre and his other worldly tones as well, on record he is unreal, live he is phenomenal. He can hold majestic notes. I’ve been lucky enough to see Mew twice. The first time was in November 2005, the second was November this year, about 7 weeks ago to be precise. Both times they’ve played this song. It was easily my highlight of both gigs when this song got an airing.

There are more than a few versions of “She Came Home For Christmas” around. It first appeared on the 1997 album “Triumph For Man” , there’s also been a few other re-workings of it, acoustics and so on. And then a newer, fuller version of the song was recorded for the breakthrough album “Frengers”. My favourite however will always be the first version they put to tape. I do, however, love all the versions, the original has an amazing guitar solo, the newest one has Jonas singing where the solo is on the original and the acoustic versions have a great bit of guitar picking at the breakdown but the original still sticks in my head and that’s the one i’ve decided to use here.

MP3: Mew – She Came Home For Christmas

Don’t touch her there, she’s blindfolded
She remembers on the bus
Into my heart, don’t remember
Like you left us without notice
Now you’ve come back, like you left us
Like you owe us
Into my heart

It’s not me, it can’t be
It’s not you, i can’t do what i do
If it’s you
This is not happening

Don’t touch her there
She told him
She remembers how it was
Into my heart, don’t remember
Like you left us without notice
Now you’ve come back
Like you owe us
Into my heart

It’s not me, it can’t be
It’s not you, I can’t do what i do
If it’s you
This is not happening

Don’t touch her there
He watched her
She knew his look from behind

S.I.T Wolf  X

Leave a comment

Filed under hot water bottle music

Leave a Reply

