Hot Water Bottle Music: Day 4 (I Know There’s Such A Place)

Day 4 brings me to a song that someone kinda requested as such. Well not really a request but more of an “oh, that song reminds me of Christmas and being warm” hint we’ll say. And if it’s good enough for Emma…..

Day 4/Thursdays song: Interpol – Say Hello To The Angels

“Say Hello To The Angels” is an example of a song that makes someone feel warm because of the memories it brings flooding back. Whilst in New York in the Winter of 2008 Emma had the Interpol album “Turn On The Bright Lights” pretty much on repeat the whole duration of her stay. From the moment Emma touched down in NY and pressed the play button she had “Turn On The Bright Lights” as her soundtrack. Even at night with the aid of her magical musical pillow the native New Yorkers were soundtracking her journey to dreamland and beyond. One song in particular got stuck in her head to remind her of that cozy warm New York apartment she was staying in. Step forward “Say Hello To The Angels”. With its warm, choppy (maybe even happy, Interpol being happy?!) chords, warm atmospherics and Paul Banks famous baritone-y delivery the song certainly has a feeling of warmth that would sit well on a cold night in NY. And as Emma put it, Interpol are the definition of night music. And night music usually equals music that’ll keep you warm. So as Emmas memories of NY and this song keep her warm this winter give it a listen yourself and maybe next year it’ll do the same for you.

MP3: Interpol – Say Hello To The Angels

I want your silent parts
The parts that the birds love
I know there’s such a place
I had my back turned,
You didn’t realize I’m lonely
You lack the things
To which I relate
But I see no harm.
Come way, come way, come way
It’s over.
And 1, 2, 3

When I’m feeling lazy, it’s probably because
I’m saving all my energy to pick you up when you
Move into my airspace
Move into my airspace
Something’s coming over me
I see you in the doorway
I cannot control the part of me that swells up when you
Move into my airspace
Move into my airspace

But each night,
I bury my love around you
Oh each night,
I bury my love around you
You’re linked to my innocence

This is a concept
This is a bracelet
This isn’t no intervention
This is a concept
This is a bracelet
This isn’t no intervention
This isn’t you yet
What you thought was such a conquest
Your hair is so pretty and red
Baby, baby, you’re really the best

Can I get to this way, I think so
Can I get to this way, I think so
Can I get to this way? Can I get to this way?
Can I get to this way? Can I get to this way?

We should take a trip now to see new places
I’m sick of this town and I’ve seen my faces change
We should take a trip to see new places
I’m sick of this town, I’ve seen my faces change
(Each night i bury my love around you)

Say hello, say hello to the angels
Say hello, say hello to the angels

WARM RATING: COZY NEW YORK APARTMENT ON A COLD WINTERS NIGHT

S.I.T Wolf X

Leave a comment

Filed under hot water bottle music

Leave a Reply

