Hot Water Bottle Music: Day 3 (Alcohol Only Makes You….)

It’s an age old arguement but does alcohol keep you warm or does it just make you think you’re warm?

Song 3/Wednesdays Song: My Morning Jacket – Death Is The Easy Way

Ok, so it’s not the most optimistic of titles but look beyond that and embrace the warmth of this song. I first heard this song back in 2002 on a compilation CD that i got with Uncut Magazine one month (Jan/Feb i believe). At first i was a bit sceptical of it but over the months it grew on me and within a year or so it had became one of my favourite night time songs. Yet again it’s another song that evokes a warmth through not just the music but the lyrics also.  The voice and lyrics are enough but then there’s the harmonica at the intro that slowly gives way to the Southern picked guitars and the unique voice of Jim James, the washy sound of cymbals, the harmonica breakdown and the various spoken words that appear in the background at one point (listen closely). To me “Death Is The Easy Way” is the perfect song to play at a campfire or something along those lines anyway. Picture the scene. The air’s that cold that you can see your every breath, you’re wrapped up in 3 layers of clothing, scarf pulled round your face, woolly hat pulled down so all thats left visible are your eyes,  your rubbing your hands round a fire as the embers flicker up towards the midnight moon. Now imagine this song playing as the soundtrack. Perfect.

MP3: My Morning Jacket – Death Is The Easy Way

So who cares if alcohol keeps you warm or not, this song keeps me warm and makes me want to have a straight whisky to put an extra bit of fire in my belly. Unfortunately for me, straight whisky doesn’t sit well in my belly (tried it once in my younger days which led to me having a face to face meeting with my toilet) so i’ll have to give it a miss. The song will do though. The video is amazing as well.

Some say, death is the easy way
And i think they’re right
Cause nights tick by like a long week
Except when you stop by
And i know that trying gets nothing done
And i see you’re about dry

Cause nothing gets you high
You’re poor the day you die
And alcohol it only makes you tired
But seeing you feels good
And its always understood
That anything much sweeter would make me die

Take some time rolling back the line
And time goes all night
Some say, death is the easy way
And iknow they’re right

Cause nothing gets you high
You’re poor the day you die
And alcohol it only makes you tired
But seeing you feels good
And its always understood
That anything much sweeter would make me die

WARM RATING: SIMMERING UP NICELY

S.I.T Wolf  X

Leave a comment

Filed under hot water bottle music

Leave a Reply

